Forgot password?

Schengen Travel Insurance

Schengen Travel Insurance

The Schengen agreements came into force on 25 March 2001.
According to those agreements, if one of the Schengen signatory countries controls entry to the Schengen area, there are no further formalities at its borders with other Member States.

Thus, if the purpose of the visit is tourism or business and if its duration is no more than 90 days in the Schengen area, the benefits of the Schengen agreements apply.

That means you only need one visa for all the countries in the Schengen area.
For those people who need a visa, travel insurance covering repatriation and medical expenses is compulsory.

With AXA Assistance it couldn’t be easier – you can take out your Schengen travel insurance policy right here, in just a few clicks.

Attention! Although most of the Schengen countries are in the European Union, you should not confuse the Schengen area with the EU.